An encouraging loss…and hope for the future

December 10, 2010 § Leave a comment

AT the recent Liberal Democrat East Midlands conference, held in Ashfield in Nottinghamshire, (my first party conference of any kind) I entered the race to join the regional party executive, in the role of Newsletter Editor.

Being very new to the party my hopes weren’t high as I’m not yet that well-known outside of Hinckley and Bosworth in Lib Dem circles, but-as Dale Winton often rightly points out on a Saturday night-you have to be ‘in it to win it’ and so I entered.

With there being a number of people going for the position there was an election, so I had to enter a piece of ‘artwork’ (as they call it)…basically an A5 poster explaining who I was and why I wanted to do that role.

They were then sent out to those Lib Dem reps with a vote and I eagerly anticipated the result.

Well, it came last night via e-mailĀ and though, as expected, I was beaten I acquitted myself more than well.

The result was:

Mathew Hulbert 20

Helen Smith 29

Many congratulations to Helen, who I’m sure will do a first-rate job.

Many thanks to everyone who voted for me, wherever they may live across our beloved region.

It was great fun to enter and the result has given me renewed confidence to, hopefully, enter future internal party elections.

I love this party and hope to serve it in whatever way I can.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An encouraging loss…and hope for the future at A Liberal Helping.

meta

