The Government should change its mind on tuition fees

November 1, 2010 § Leave a comment

I support an overwhelming majority of what this Coalition Government-and especially the Lib Dem Ministers within in-are doing and achieving.

This Coalition Government is right for Britain.

However, on one of the few issues I disagree with Coalition policy on, I feel I just have to speak out.

And that is tuition fees-as I’ve blogged here before about it, I won’t repeat what I’ve already said.

The purpose of this post is to let you guys know that on Saturday at regional conference I voted for a motion which called for a change in current policy, which is to allow tuition fees to rise much higher, and to abide by what remains Lib Dem policy (as opposed to Coalition Government policy) which is to oppose any rise in tuition fees and, in time, to abolish fees all together.

The motion I supported went on further to call on Ministers to re-examine the Dearing Report into higher education funding and to ensure that ‘graduated and prospective undergraduates, especially the poorest, are not disadvantaged or dissuaded from achieving their degree.

I await to see where the Government will place a cap on fees before I make a further judgement on Coalition policy.

I really want to support Coalition policies , but I must also stick up for working class and middle income families whose young people are not going to want to go to Uni for fear of racking up huge debts.

This debate is a great reminder, however, that the Lib Dems as a party is an independent party and has a number of policy positions not currently being put forward by the leadership.

I understand that, of course. Partnership means compromise.

But those of us not bound by collective responsibility can, do and are calling for a reversal to Coalition policy.

It is the only fair thing to do.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Government should change its mind on tuition fees at A Liberal Helping.

meta

