After fifteen years It’s time I was honest with the World: I’m Gay

February 28, 2011 § 11 Comments

 Featured on Liberal Democrat Voice

SO, IT’S my Birthday today, I turn 31!

Well, it’s kind of my birthday…you see I’m a Leap Year child, born on February 29th 1980.

Not sure if it’s the birthday adrenaline coursing through my veins, but I’ve decided the time has come to be true to myself and to be true to others.

Long since time to  ‘come out of the closet’ and tell the world that I’m gay.

It’s a shame, in one sense, that being gay is not seen as normal enough for people like me not to have to ‘come out’ like it’s some kind of circus performance.

However, I do so today not only because it’s time I was honest with the World about who I am, but also because I believe that the more of us homosexuals who stand up and tell people who and what we are, the more courage it will give to other people to do the same.

I’ve been blown away, in recent weeks, since I first ‘came out’ to my brilliant friend Daniel (who I thank for his friendship, integrity and advice) with how cool people have been when I’ve told them, how quick they’ve been to reassure me that this doesn’t change anything, and, in terms of my brother and father, how much they love me.

And, of course, it shouldn’t be something to get worked up about…and I know I should have done this years ago, but you just don’t know how people are going to react; it’s the fear of the unknown that is the key to this.

A friend of mine put it starkly to me when he noted that at 31, I could be nearing half-way through my life-span and that it’s time I lived my life how I wanted to.

I couldn’t do this without the support and love of countless friends; Daniel, Helen, James, Simon, Stuart, Andy, Harvey and others I’ve probably forgotten to mention; your support, in recent weeks, has been fantastic.

And, of course, to my family…to whom I owe more than I than I can easily express.

Of course, in many ways, this changes nothing: I’m still the same bloke; still a bit of a geek, still a Lib Dem, still a Christian, still a Republican, still pro-European, still love radio and current affairs, still think I can sing when really I can’t, and so on.

I could go on for longer, but I think I’ll leave it at for now.

It feels like a huge weight lifted from my shoulders.

Many thanks and much love.

§ 11 Responses to After fifteen years It’s time I was honest with the World: I’m Gay

  • Helen Copeland says:

    To try and be someone else is a waste of the person you are… You’re still the same Mathew we all know and love.. you just have a preference for blue xx

  • Caron says:

    Happy Birthday! In a year & a day, it’ll be leap year again.

    Glad you have had such great support from your friends & family. You’ve chosen the right time for you to share this with the rest of the world & I’m sure you will reassure & inspire others by doing so.

  • Harvey says:

    Mat, I am very proud of the journey you have taken over the last weeks, you are deffo not the only gay in the village !!!

    He he

  • timjnx says:

    Happy Birthday Mathew, and much respect for your openness. Sincerely hope that 31 isn’t half-way through your life – as that doesn’t leave much for me at 47!

    You remain the only Lib Dem candidate that I wish success for on May 5th!

  • Liberal Neil says:

    Nice post. Must have taken some courage.

    Good luck in Barwell. Nice village. I’ll encourage my Gran-in-law to vote for you ;-)

  • Chris Mills says:

    Fair enough. As Helen says, you’re still the same Mat. Just perhaps feeling a little more comfortable because you’re not hiding who you are from everyone. I hope you achieve your objective and inspire people to be comfortable with themselves and who they are.

  • carole stokes says:

    Matthew, surprised…. no, still love you….. yes!!!xxxx

  • Messy Train Land Blogger says:

    Happy Birthday Mathew; we share exactly the same Birthday!! (There aren’t so many of us 7.75 year olds around). Well done on the post too.

  • Colin Ross says:

    Happy birthday Matthew and Happy Gayday too.

    Glad everyone is okay with your coming out, you will be surprised how few people will think of you differently – I know I was – people love you for who you are not for your sexuality.

    Have a great day!

    Colin

  • [...] After fifteen years It’s time I was honest with the World: I’m Gay by Mathew Hulbert on A Liberal Helping. A personal post by [...]

  • Niklas Smith says:

    I second Colin – your sexuality is only one of many things about you, so coming out is not going to make people who loved you before suddenly change their minds. I hope you have a very good year ahead of you and good luck in the election :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading After fifteen years It’s time I was honest with the World: I’m Gay at A Liberal Helping.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

